Comment l’évaluation peut-elle aider à améliorer la qualité des données et les politiques en matière de sécurité alimentaire pendant la pandémie de Covid-19?

data collection
©FAO/Alberto Conti

Comment l’évaluation peut-elle aider à améliorer la qualité des données et les politiques en matière de sécurité alimentaire pendant la pandémie de Covid-19?

Il y a eu une énorme contrainte dans la collecte de données en raison de la pandémie de Covid-19 : les données sur la production alimentaire, les prix, le commerce, l’accès aux marchés, la nutrition et les données sur la population sans accès/accès limité aux denrées alimentaires sont toutes affectées, selon la situation des pays.

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer la qualité des données disponibles? Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l’analyse et l’interprétation des données? Comment pouvons-nous aider à coordonner les efforts déployés par différents acteurs sur les données et l’analyse pendant la pandémie de Covid-19 afin d’assurer une analyse significative?

Cordialement

Tim

Cette discussion est terminée. Veuillez contacter info@evalforward.org pour plus d'informations.

Chers membres d’EvalForward,

Merci à tous d’avoir affiché des innovations et des expériences bénéfiques sur le maintien de la qualité des données au cours de cette période.

Les expériences et les leçons sur la façon dont les différents acteurs et organisations adaptent leurs plans de collecte de données sont essentielles pour maintenir les gains pour l’utilisation des preuves pour éclairer les politiques.

Je suis ravi que nous puissions continuer à apprendre à relever les défis tout en maintenant la crédibilité des données que nous recueillons. La prochaine étape consiste à partager ces données le plus largement possible et à partager nos expériences le plus largement possible afin de s’assurer que la région bénéficie de manière significative des politiques éclairées à l’aide de données crédibles et fiables.

Veuillez continuer à partager vos expériences à travers cette plate-forme!

Cordialement

Tim

Merci beaucoup Talent. Oui, l’adaptation de l’insécurité alimentaire à la pandémie du COVID-19 est une grande innovation, surtout pour attribuer l’insécurité qui existe déjà et celle due à la pandémie. Nous attendons avec impatience les premiers résultats de ces innovations. S’il vous plaît partager certaines des expériences de ce que vous voyez jusqu’à présent.

Merci beaucoup Ethel pour vos contributions. Je ne pourrais pas être plus d’accord avec vous. L’utilisation de données antérieures en ce moment est très utile. en outre, de nombreuses organisations ont mis leurs données passées à la disposition des utilisateurs. L’analyse des données, y compris la possibilité de faire correspondre et de combiner les données est une compétence essentielle à mettre en œil en ce moment. Les avis d’experts sont également importants pour l’interprétation contextuelle. Il existe en ce moment quelques modèles tels que ceux de l’IFPRI, de l’UE, de la BAD pour l’analyse et l’évaluation des scénarios, mais il est nécessaire d’accroître la capacité de modélisation entre les évaluateurs.

 

Merci beaucoup Tim. Échanges très intéressants. Je pense qu’il y a beaucoup à faire avec les ensembles de données existants et les données secondaires, mais beaucoup dépend de leur qualité aussi.

Quelques pensées me viennent à l’esprit :

  1. Je me rends compte par expérience que très souvent les évaluateurs recueillent beaucoup plus de données que ce qui est nécessaire, de sorte que la situation actuelle de Covid-19 nous oblige à rationaliser les approches et à ne recueillir que des données très nécessaires. Nous devons être plus alignés sur l’utilité. Par exemple, se demander quelles sont les informations requises par les décideurs, c’est-à-dire les données minimales requises pour y remédier au moment où elles sont requises? Quelles données peuvent être recueillies à distance et que peut-on compléter par le biais de données existantes?
  2. Lorsqu’il existe des données de bonne qualité, en particulier avec des identifiants uniques, des efforts peuvent être faits pour faire correspondre les données à la collecte de données primaires à distance tactile légère, éventuellement en utilisant la technologie mobile, compte tenu de la restriction de voyage posée par Covid-19.
  3. Je pense que maintenant plus qu’avant, des mesures de qualité améliorées à tous les niveaux sont de plus en plus importantes. Bien que nous perdions tous les avantages qui viennent avec l’interaction face à face dans la collecte de données, il y a encore beaucoup à faire pour améliorer la qualité des résultats. Par exemple, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour engager les personnes ayant la bonne expertise technique pour extraire les données existantes et comprendre les tendances; utiliser les données existantes pour modéliser à quoi pourrait ressembler la situation future en vue de Covid-19; et utiliser des approches qualitatives telles que l’observation directe de la qualité des cultures et la disponibilité des aliments sur les marchés, le cas échéant, pour en citer quelques exemples.

Beau travail que vous faites, j’ai hâte de jeter un oeil aux données qu’il sera certainement une mine d’informations. Sur une autre note, je suppose que vous êtes au courant du nouveau module d’enquête FIES adapté à la crise Covid? Il s’agit d’un module très impressionnant et même lorsqu’il est adopté à un stade ultérieur de votre étude peut apporter des informations supplémentaires car il tente de séparer l’insécurité alimentaire en raison de la crise Covid-19 et l’insécurité alimentaire habituelle et enracinée en raison de conditions persistantes au niveau domestique et /ou individuel. C’est le module que nous utilisons dans toutes les évaluations rapides menées par la FAO à des fins de comparabilité. Si c’est quelque chose d’intéressant, s’il vous plaît n’hésitez pas à lier.

Cher Njagi,

Merci beaucoup pour ce lien partagé. L’initiative est en cours au Sénégal, la Banque mondiale est en collaboration avec le Bureau national des statistiques pour piloter l’évaluation entre juin et avril 2021 et la FAO en particulier la Division des statistiques contribue en formant les membres du bureau sur l’outil FIES adapté à Covid-19.

Ce type d’évaluation est une évaluation au niveau macro au niveau national et nous prenons les résultats pour être alignés parfaitement dans les réponses des politiques nationales. Cependant, nous devons avoir une évaluation rapide plus spécifique dans les domaines du projet avec des données micro en ce qui concerne les objectifs et les indicateurs du projet. Nous sommes dans un état de proposition pour ce type d’évaluation rapide spécifique, mais notre approche sera d’une portée proposée par la FAO pour une évaluation rapide sans les enquêtes téléphoniques.

Merci pour vos commentaires

Cher Diagne,

Merci beaucoup d’avoir partagé vos commentaires sur la réponse rapide. Nous sommes impatients d’en apprendre davantage sur votre étude, votre approche et votre expérience au Sénégal. Sur une note connexe, je suis tombé sur la collecte de données d’intervention rapide à haute fréquence entreprise par la Banque mondiale sur le COVID-19 dans un certain nombre de pays, voir plus d’informations ici http://surveys.worldbank.org/covid-19.

Mes chers, 

Je me joins à cette discussion intéressante, l’occasion pour nous de partager l’évaluation rapide en cours proposée par l’Unité de coordination pour le GAFSP MMI Sénégal. Aujourd’hui, dans cette situation pandémique, l’évaluation rapide est un soutien efficace à la décision pertinente en matière de politiques et à des mesures programmatiques pour les personnes les plus touchées. En décembre, dans l’étude de référence, nous avions utilisé le FIES pour évaluer la prévalence de l’insécurité alimentaire, à l’époque où nous avions une base de données dans le module FIES pour les ménages et les niveaux individuel. Dans cette situation, nous essayons d’utiliser l’évaluation avec cet outil pour estimer l’impact du Covid 19 sur la sécurité alimentaire et la vulnérabilité rurale. Une analyse comparative des données FIES décembre 2019 aux données FIES pour juin 2020 donnera à l’utilisation une information efficace sur l’impact du covid 19 sur la sécurité alimentaire. En parallèle, nous utiliserons les outils socio-économiques pour produire plus de preuves dans la situation rurale de cette pandémie. Nos données couvrent les domaines d’intervention du projet. La région de Tambacounda est définie comme la région la plus pauvre du Sénégal. Maintenant, à partir de l’extrapolation, les données peuvent être utilisées pour estimer la situation réelle de prévalence de l’insécurité alimentaire. Les résultats seront utilisés par le projet pour préparer la planification post-pandémie et les mesures nécessaires et aussi les sous-zones les plus touchées où les producteurs et les ménages en général ont besoin de plus de soutien.

Cet exercice d’évaluation rapide est en cours, il s’agit donc d’un court extrait pour expliquer dans la situation d’urgence si vous avez des données de base comment une évaluation rapide avec outil de pratique, peut aider à améliorer la qualité des données et les politiques sur la sécurité alimentaire ....

Je promets après la réalisation de produire un document de capitalisation si nécessaire à partager avec les membres.

 

Great suggestions Emile. The use of scientifically established samples greatly makes the data credible. The common practice of talking to a few people is biased and not credible. however, a key challenge remains to reach these respondents. Phone surveys are now the common approach, however, the desired information should be collected should be very short because it is not possible to keep a respondent for a long period over the phone. The other means you have proposed are ideal but may be unsuitable for people in rural areas without access to the internet and electricity. SMS is also a great option but the information collected through this method is also very short. in addition, incentives must be provided to enhance participation. This also needs careful consideration so as not to bias response.

 

La contrainte supplémentaire qu'apporte la pandémie de COVID-19 est l'impossibilité de rencontrer physiquement les acteurs devant fournir les informations. On ne peut pas aller les rencontrer au risque de contaminer ou d'être contaminé. Il faut donc les contacter à distance, puis collecter les informations et données requises selon les périodes indiquées. A cet effet, on pourrait recourir à la base de données des structures habituelles de collecte d'informations et données sur la sécurité alimentaire. Cette base de données fournirait une liste de ménages et personnes ressources antérieurement enquêtés et leurs contacts. Une fois cette liste obtenue, il suffirait de lancer l'opération de collecte d'informations et données à laquelle les ménages figurant sur la liste sont conviés. Ce lancement pourrait se faire par voie électronique (e-mail) ou par voie de presse (journaux et télévisions). Cet appel devrait inviter les ménages intéressés à participer à l'opération de contacter la structure en charge de l'opération pour y contribuer. Les ménages et personnes intéressés pourront fournir régulièrement par e-mail ou par réseaux sociaux (whatsapp, facebook, twitter, ...) les informations et données qui leur sont demandées. D'office, les données collectées seront fiables. Les données collectées étant fiables, on peut bien en déduire des calculs et analyses pertinentes qui serviront à la définition de politiques efficaces en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

La pandémie de Covid-19 a perturbé la norme dans tous les secteurs et professions. Le verrouillage et d’autres mesures visant à assurer la santé et la sécurité des citoyens ont fait en sorte que la collecte de données, en particulier celle qui a été recueillie par le biais d’interactions personne à personne, n’était pas possible.  À l’honneur de nombreux chercheurs, évaluateurs, collecteurs de données, entreprises et institutions, il y a eu de nombreuses et grandes innovations au cours des deux derniers mois pour combler le fossé et s’assurer qu’il existe des données qui peuvent éclairer les décideurs. Cependant, il est important de s’assurer que les données qui sont transmises sont crédibles et fiables. Des données erronées, imprécises, incroyables et peu fiables peuvent annuler les gains d’élaboration de politiques fondées sur des données probantes. En outre, la pression d’avoir des données peut conduire à «flexion» des procédures et des protocoles pour la collecte de données, l’analyse et l’inférence. Comment alors assurer la qualité des données disponibles qui arrivent? Comment pouvons-nous évaluer la qualité de l’analyse et l’inférence subséquente pour nous assurer que nous influencés sur les prescriptions de politiques correctes?  Comment pouvons-nous promouvoir la collaboration et le partage des leçons pendant ces périodes?

How can evaluation help improve data quality and policies on food security during Covid-19 pandemic?

data collection
©FAO/Alberto Conti

How can evaluation help improve data quality and policies on food security during Covid-19 pandemic?

There has been a huge constraint in collecting data due to Covid-19 pandemic: depending on countries situation, data on food production, prices, trade, market access, nutrition and data on population without access/constrained access to food items are all affected.

How can we improve the quality of the available data? How can we enhance the analysis and interpretation of data? How can we help coordinate the efforts by different players on data and analysis during the Covid-19 pandemic to ensure meaningful analysis?

Kind regards,

Tim

This discussion is now closed. Please contact info@evalforward.org for any further information.

Dear EvalForward members,

Thank you all for posting beneficial innovations and experiences on maintaining data quality during this period.

The experiences and lessons on how different actors and organisations are adapting their data collection plans are essential in maintaining the gains for utilising evidence to inform policy.

I am thrilled that we can continue to learn how to work around challenges while maintaining the credibility of the data we collect. The next step is to share this data as widely as possible and share our experiences as wide as possible to ensure that the region benefits significantly from policies informed using credible and reliable data.

Kindly keep sharing your experiences through this platform!

Kind regards,

Tim

Thanks very much Talent. Yes, the adaptation of the food insecurity experience to the COVID-19 pandemic is a great innovation especially as to attribute the insecurity that was already existing and that due to the pandemic. we look forward to the early results from these innovations. please share some of the experiences from what you are seeing so far.

Thank you very much Ethel for your contributions. I could not agree with you more. the utilisation of past data at this time is very useful. in addition, many organisations have made their past data available for utilisation. Analysis of the data, including being able to match and combine data is an essential skill to put into use at this time. Expert opinions are also important for contextual interpretation. There are a few models at this time such as those by IFPRI, EU, AfDB for analysis and evaluating scenarios, however, there is need to enhance capacity for modelling among evaluators.

 

Thanks a lot Tim. Very interesting exchanges. I do think there is a lot that can be done with existing data sets and secondary data, but much depends on their quality as well. A few thoughts come to mind

  1. I realize from experience that quite often evaluators collect a lot more data than is required, so the current Covid- 19 situation forces us to streamline approaches and collect only very necessary data. We need to be more aligned to utility. For instance, ask ourselves, what information is required by decision makers therefore what is the minimum data required to address that at the time it is required? What data can be collected remotely and what can be supplemented through existing data?
  2. Where good quality data exists, particularly with unique identifiers, efforts can be made to match data with light touch remote primary data collection, possibly using mobile technology, given travel restriction posed by Covid-19.
  3. I do think more that ever before, enhanced quality measures at all levels are increasingly important. While we lose all the benefits that come with  face to face interaction in data collection, there is still much that can be done to enhance quality of outcomes- For instance, more needs to be done to engage people with the right technical expertise to mine existing data and understand trends; use existing data for modelling what the future situation might look like in view of Covid-19; and use qualitative approaches such as direct observation of crop quality and food availability in markets, where applicable to mention a few examples.

Lovely work you are doing, cannot wait to take a look at the data it will certainly be a wealth of information. On another note, I guess you are aware of the new FIES Survey Module adapted to the Covid Crisis? Its a very impressive module and even when adopted at a later stage in your study may bring additional information as it attempts to separate Food Insecurity due to the Covid-19 Crisis and habitual, engrained food insecurity due to persisting conditions at household and/or individual level. This is the module we are using in all the FAO led rapid assessments for comparability purposes. If this is something of interest, please do not hesitate to link up.

Dear Njagi,

Thank you very much for this link shared. The initiative is actually ongoing in Senegal the world Bank is in collaboration with the National office of Statistics to drive the evaluation between June to April 2021 and the FAO particularly the Statistics Division contribute by training the office members on the FIES tool adapted to Covid-19.

This type of evaluation are a macro level evaluation at national level and we take the results to be aligned neatly in national policies responses. However we need to have more specific rapid evaluation in the project areas with micro data in relation to the project goals and indicators. We are in a state for proposal for this type of specific rapid evaluation but our approach will be for a scope proposed by FAO for rapid assessment without the phone surveys.

Thank you for your feedback

Dear Diagne,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on rapid response. we look forward to learning more about your study and approach and experience from Senegal. On a related note, I came across high-frequency rapid response data collection being undertaken by the World Bank on the COVID-19 in a number of countries, see more information here http://surveys.worldbank.org/covid-19.

My Dears,

I’m joining this interesting discussion, occasion for us to share from the ongoing rapid evaluation assessment proposed by the Coordination Unit for the GAFSP MMI Senegal. Today in this pandemic situation, the rapid evaluation is an effective support for pertinent policies decision and programmatic action for most affected people. In December, in the baseline study, we had used the FIES (Food Insecurity Experience Scale) to evaluate the prevalence of food insecurity, at the time we had a database in FIES module for household and individual level. From this situation, we try to use evaluation with this tool to estimate the impact of the Covid 19 on food security and rural vulnerability. A comparative analysis from data FIES December 2019 to data FIES for June 2020 will give use an effective information on the impact of the covid 19 on food security. In parallel we will use the socio-economic tools to produce more evidence in the rural situation in this pandemic. Our data covers the intervention areas of the project. The Tambacounda region are defined like the more poor region in Senegal. Now from extrapolation the data can be used to estimate the actual situation of prevalence of food insecurity. The results will be used by the project to prepare the post pandemic planification and necessary action and too the more affected sub-areas where producers and households in general need more support.

This rapid evaluation exercise  are in process, so this is a short extract to explain in the urgency situation if you have baseline data how rapid evaluation with practice tool, can help to improve data quality and policies on food security....

I promise after the realization to produce a capitalization document if necessary to share with members.

 

Great suggestions Emile. The use of scientifically established samples greatly makes the data credible. The common practice of talking to a few people is biased and not credible. however, a key challenge remains to reach these respondents. Phone surveys are now the common approach, however, the desired information should be collected should be very short because it is not possible to keep a respondent for a long period over the phone. The other means you have proposed are ideal but may be unsuitable for people in rural areas without access to the internet and electricity. SMS is also a great option but the information collected through this method is also very short. in addition, incentives must be provided to enhance participation. This also needs careful consideration so as not to bias response.

 

The additional constraint of the COVID-19 pandemic is the inability to meet physically the actors who need to provide the information. They cannot be encountered at the risk of contamination. It is therefore necessary to contact them remotely, and then collect the required information and data depending on the specified periods. To this end, the database of the institutions usually in charge of collecting information and data on food security could be used. This database would provide a list of previously surveyed households and resource persons and their contacts. Once this list is obtained, it would be enough to launch the information and data collection excercise and invite the households on the list. The data collection could be launched electronically (e-mail) or through the press (newspapers and television). Households interests to participate in the data collection should be invited to contact the institution in charge of the activity in order tto contribute. Households and interested individuals could provide regular information and data by email or social networks (whatsapp, facebook, twitter, etc.). Automatically, the data collected will be reliable. As the data collected is reliable, it is possible to infer relevant calculations and analyses that can be used to define effective food security policies.

[post translated from French]

The Covid-19 pandemic has disrupted the norm in all sectors and professions. The lockdown and other measures to ensure health and safety of citizens have meant that collection of data, especially that which was collected through person to person interactions was not possible.  To the credit of many researchers, evaluators, data collectors, firms and institutions, there have been many and great innovations over the past two months to bridge the gap and ensure that there is data that can inform policy and decision-makers. However, it is important to ensure that the data that comes through is credible and reliable. Wrong, imprecise, incredible, unreliable data can undo the gains to have evidence-based policymaking. Also, the pressure to have data can lead to "bending" of procedures and protocols for data collection, analysis and inference. How then can we ensure the quality of the available data that is coming in? How can we evaluate the quality of analysis and subsequent inference to ensure that we influence the correct policy prescriptions?  How can we promote collaboration and lesson sharing during these times?